quick black bean tacos

This recipe was on my “to cook” list forever. Quick, black beans, corn tortillas — what’s not to like? I even went so far as to buy the ingredients not once, not twice, but three times.

Something always came up. I got stuck at work, or succumbed to the temptation of Seamless.com, or by the time I remembered I had the ingredients the cilantro had wilted and the green onions were slimy.

But finally I made it, and it was worth it. This one will end up in the weekly rotation.

Even more amazing: I put hot sauce on it of my own accord. Apparently I fulfilled my 2011 new year’s resolution, “Learn to like spicy food,” without even realizing it was happening.

Black Bean Tacos with Cilantro-Lime Slaw

Adapted barely from Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it (barely) from Bon Appétit.

1 15-ounce can black beans, drained
1 teaspoon ground cumin
5 teaspoons olive oil, divided
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
2 cups coleslaw
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
4 yellow corn tortillas
1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
1 avocado, sliced
Hot sauce (I used green Tabasco)

Place beans and cumin in small bowl; mash with fork. Add a pinch of salt and pepper to taste. In a medium bowl, toss the coleslaw mix, green onions and cilantro with 2 teaspoons of the olive oil and the lime juice. Season taste with salt and pepper.

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil (or vegetable, grapeseed or high smoke-point oil) in nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add tortillas in single layer. Spoon bean mixture onto half of each tortilla; cook 1 minute. Fold tacos in half, and sprinkle on feta cheese. Cook until golden brown, about 1 minute per side. Fill tacos with slaw. Serve with hot sauce and sliced avocado.

