smoky chicken breasts

Here we are in Week 9, and I’ve finally made a recipe that’s quick, healthy, flavorful and not overly ambitious!  Better late than never.

This recipe took about 50 minutes to make, in one sense. In another, it took more than a year. I used an unopened can of chipotle chiles in adobo that I bought when I lived in Scranton, the first time I planned to make this recipe, not long after 2011 began. For whatever reason, I never got around to it in January. Then in February and March I was consumed with moving. And then I came to DC, with the chiles in one of my kitchen boxes, ready for me to find them.

Once I finally made this, I had a lot of fun with leftovers. Eating a hunk of meat gets boring after two days, so I chopped the remaining chicken, warmed up a can of black beans and some carmelized onions, and made chicken-sweet potato-black bean-goat cheese tostadas. They were heavenly.

Chipotle-Rubbed Chicken with Sweet Potatoes

from Melissa Clark’s In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite.

sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into half-inch pieces (home-fry size)
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved
4 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons honey
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt, plus additional to taste
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Toss the sweet potatoes in two tablespoons of olive oil and season lightly with salt and pepper. Spread out in the bottom of a roasting pan and roast for 20 minutes.

While the potatoes are roasting, combine 1 tablespoon olive oil with the chiles, garlic, honey, vinegar, salt, cumin and cinnamon. Stir it together into a paste and rub it all over the chicken breasts. Remove the potatoes from the oven and carefully put the chicken on top. Roast for 25 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

