Tortilla (Spanish Omlette)

No photo with this one, sorry! I promise next week’s recipe will be photogenic and gorgeous, but this one wasn’t — especially on the third day, when I finally remembered to take a photo at all.

On Thursday night I was standing, bleary-eyed, in the Tenleytown Whole Foods, staring at gleaming mounds of produce and feeling uninspired. I didn’t want to eat. I wanted to call it a week and crawl into bed.

Monday night, I’d learned that my roommates and I are being evicted from our beautiful five-bedroom house in June, because our landlords have decided to renovate and not renew our lease. This will be the seventh time I’ve moved since graduation in 2009: First lugging three giant suitcases on a plane to New York. Then to Jersey City after my New York lease ran out, carrying those suitcases on public transit to my friend’s apartment. Then two weeks later, I flew back to Chicago, dumped the furniture from my studio apartment into my mother’s minivan, and flew to Washington, suitcases in tow. Four months later, the three giant suitcases and I hopped into a cab on New Year’s Eve and moved to Arlington, where I started 2010. And four months after that, the suitcases and I flew back to Kansas City, picked up the minivan full of furniture, and moved to Scranton.

When I moved into this house in Washington last March, it was supposed to be temporary, a two-month sublet so that I could get my bearings and conduct a leisurely apartment search. I stayed in part because I liked it, because the kitchen was nice and the yard was huge, because I realized DC real estate had only gotten more expensive in the year I’d been gone, because had the opportunity to move into a larger room, because I discovered a bus that would take me from outside my door to the door of my office. But I also stayed because I just couldn’t face moving again.

I’m not even certain where the giant suitcases are anymore, and knowing that more moving boxes and housing searches and security deposits lay in my immediate future drove me into a deep funk. As I stared at mounds of asparagus and longed for take-out, I decided instead to go with the easiest weeknight dinner there is: eggs.

Tortilla

3 potatoes, thinly sliced
1 onion, thinly sliced
1/4 cup olive oil
6 eggs, beaten
Salt and pepper

In a large, cast-iron skillet, fry the potatoes and onions in small batches, draining on a paper towel when finished.

Beat the eggs in a bowl and fold in the warm potatoes and onions. Pour off most of the olive oil from the skillet, then pour in the egg mixture. Cook over medium heat until the sides and bottom are set, about 10 minutes.

With a rubber spatula, loosen the sides of the tortilla and slide onto a plate. Cover with a second plate and hold together tightly. Turn the plates over, so the tortilla is flipped into the pan. Cook another 5-10 minutes.

Serve at room temperature or cold.

