Salmon Cakes with Mango-Pomegranate Guacamole

This blog has been dormant for way too long. I have a host of good excuses! First my sister graduated from USC. Then I turned 25. Then moving day (on Saturday) approached and my kitchen was taken over by half-empty boxes and my will to live, and cook, was completely sapped. In sum: I’m the worst.

But I have a delicious recipe to make up for it. I love salmon and avocado. It combines two of my healthy-but-buttery obsessions. I love it in sushi, I love it in salads, I just absolutely love it.

So when I decided to make these salmon cakes, I knew what had to garnish them: a mango-pomegranate guacamole I last had last summer, on a hot August day at Screen on the Green. (Have I mentioned how thrilled I am that DC summer is here?)

I made the cakes with fresh salmon, but to be honest, canned salmon would be fine here. I also used “lemonaise” — which my aunt, who lives in the last place Whole Foods would ever, ever establish an outpost, has a strange obsession with and stocks up on every time she’s in the city — but you could use normal mayonnaise plus about a teaspoon of lemon juice.

Salmon Cakes with Mango-Pomegranate Guacamole

Serves 4. Makes about 6 cakes, with lots of guacamole left over.

For the salmon cakes:

1 pound skinless salmon fillet, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 (6-inch) pita rounds, torn into small pieces
1/4 cup lemon mayonnaise
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
2 tablespoons chopped chives

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and form into 6 cakes. In a heavy, large skillet, heat a glug of olive oil over medium heat until it shimmers; cook cakes, turning once, for 6-7 minutes or until golden and just cooked through.

For the mango-pomegranate guacamole:

2 ripe avocados (2 pounds total)
1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
1 fresh serrano chile, finely chopped
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, or to taste
1/3 cup pomegranate seeds
1 champagne mango, peeled and diced small
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Halve, pit, and peel avocados. Coarsely mash in a bowl. Stir in onion, chiles, 1/4 cup lime juice, and 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, then fold in pomegranate seeds, mango, and cilantro. Season with salt and additional lime juice.

Serve the leftover guacamole with plantain chips.

